业务系统总监改变预算编制流程,减轻 5 个科系(及自己)的负担

在加拿大某重点大学基础设施发展科系工作的 Kelly Husband 为第三季度规划推出了 Jet Budgets,成功减轻了多科系汇总的压力,而且解决了组织性财务规划方案缺失的问题

Primary Ubc

挑战

Kelly Husband 面临为其所在加拿大西部某重点大学科系管理财务和预算编制的挑战。作为 Jet Analytics 的用户,她对 Jet 的产品已非常熟悉,也很享受这些产品在运行报告方面给她带来的便利。但,每当要进行季度预算编制时,她便面临着同样的噩梦, 如何及时准确地管理所有七个成本中心的预算编制流程。

Kelly 的工作非常复杂,一部分涉及成本回收,另一部分涉及核心资金分配,她必须通过汇总视图来查看所有数据,但又缺乏任何可行的工具。她的任务是收集六位经理输入的数据,并将这些信息导入 Excel 电子表格中,而这些操作都需要在很短的时间内完成。由于时间过于仓促,整个过程来不及进行实际规划或即时调整。这个过程压力非常大,需要很多人际互动和信心才能完成。

“我们以前使用的预算编制解决方案很复杂。在预算完成之前,我无法看到汇总的内容。没有机会做假设预案或进行即时调整。我们的工作受到了严重阻碍。我只有两个星期的时间,却要完成感觉像是 3 个月的工作量。”

解决方案

在参加 NAVUG 之后,Kelly 对启用 Jet Budgets 的想法很感兴趣,并立即要求使用这个产品进行第 3 季度的预算编制。该解决方案很容易实施,Kelly 为此激动不已,这也加速了审批流程。在方案实施的几天内,Kelly 便能够开始使用 Jet Budgets,并改变了财务规划流程的运行方式。

她能够快速将预算数据放到 Jet Budgets 中,向经理发送个人投资组合以获取他们的意见,然后在加载回 NAV 系统之前对汇总的内容进行审核。预算加载后,Kelly 在 Jet Budgets 和 NAV 中都可以看到汇总的视图,并授权使用实际数据更新预算,这样她便可以更轻松地了解费用与收入的对比,并进行细微调整和重新分配资金。

“这个工具太棒了!我刚一听说就迫不及待想试试。我能更加全面地了解支出和收入,这真的让我很放心了。职员每月会更新数据。我不再等待着每个季度结束,也不再觉得我在预算季里忙着跑马拉松了。预算编制就这么轻松地完成了。”

当我们使用 Jet Budgets 完成本季度工作时,我对所有数据都感到非常满意并且没有出现任何问题。该工具节省了大量时间、成本,还大大减轻了压力!

Kelly Husband Portrait
Kelly Husband
Director of Project & Planning Business Systems
I Manual Reports
快速简便的预算编制

行政负担得到减轻,使预算编制从充满压力的漫长过程变为简单明了的季度性任务

I Scalability
真实的预测和预案

结合 NAV 预测和汇总预算,终于可以实现预案测试

I Writing Reports
数据可信

通过增加自动化和减少手动输入,数据可靠无误

Company: Major Canadian University – Infrastructure Development Country: United States Job Title: Director of Project & Planning Business Systems Role: Finance
Product: Jet Analytics Financial System: Dynamics NAV 行業: Education Services Microsoft Partner: Omni Logic Solutions Inc Number of Jet Designers: 1

Director of Business Systems Transforms Budgeting Process to Reduce Burden on Five Units (and Self)

Infrastructure Development employee at a major Canadian university launches Jet Budgets for Q3 planning and successfully reduces the strain of multi-department consolidations and fixes the lack of organized fiscal planning options

Primary Ubc

Challenge

Kelly Husband was challenged with managing financials and budgeting for her department at a major university in Western Canada. As a user of Jet Analytics, she was already very familiar with Jet products and enjoyed the ease and simplicity of running her own reports. However, when budgeting time rolled around, she was faced with the same quarterly nightmare – how to manage the budgeting process for all seven of her cost centers in a timely, accurate fashion.

Kelly’s job was complex; part cost recovery and part core funding, she had to look at everything from a consolidated view but did not have any tools to do so. She was tasked with seeking input from six individual managers and pulling that information into Excel spreadsheets, all within an impossibly small window of time. The process did not allow for any real planning, and no adjustments could be made on the fly. It was highly stressful and required a lot of human interaction and hope to complete 

Our legacy budgeting solution was very complicated. I was unable to see consolidations until after the budgets were complete. There was no opportunity to do what-if scenarios or make on-the-fly adjustments. We were really held back. And I had two weeks to complete what felt like three months of work. 

Solutions

After attending NAVUG, Kelly was hooked on the idea of Jet Budgets and immediately requested it for her Q3 budgeting period. Kelly was thrilled with how easy the solution was to implement, which expedited the approval process. Within a few days of implementation, Kelly was able to start using Jet Budgets and transformed the way the fiscal planning process ran.

She was able to drop her budget numbers into Jet Budgets quickly, send out individual portfolios to managers for their input, and then review consolidations before loading it back to her NAV system. With the budgets loaded, Kelly can see the consolidated view in both Jet Budgets and NAV and delegate updating the budget with actuals, so she can understand expenses vs. revenues and make tweaks and reallocate funding much easier.

“It’s brilliant! I knew I wanted it as soon as I heard about it. We’ve got more transparency into our spending and revenues, and it has actually put my mind at rest. The clerks update the numbers monthly. I no longer wait for the quarter to end and feel like I’m scrambling and running a marathon during budget season. It’s just done.”

"When we did the quarter with Jet Budgets, I was very comfortable with all my numbers and had no questions. It saved infinite time, money, and stress!”

Kelly Husband
Director of Project & Planning Business Systems
I Manual Reports
Fast and Easy Budgeting

The reduced administrative burden changed budgeting from a stress marathon to a straightforward quarterly task.

I Scalability
Real Forecasting and Scenarios

By combining NAV forecasting and consolidated budgets, scenario testing is finally possible.

I Writing Reports
Confidence in Numbers

By increasing automation and reducing manual inputs, there are no questions about the numbers.